Updating Apple Keychain After an ETSU Account Password Change

When students and faculty update their ETSU network password or if their password expires as part of the directory security policy, the keychain must be updated upon next login. In most cases the Apple OS will prompt the user with the message “The system was unable to unlock your login keychain”, followed by the following options…

  • Update Keychain Password (This is the default and recommended choice)
  • Continue Log in:
  • Or, Create New Keychain

Below are the three different scenarios a user will be faced with based depending upon their selection.

 

Update Keychain Password (Preferred Method)

Selecting "Update Keychain Password" and entering the previous ETSU network password to unlock the keychain, will result in the OS updating the login password accordingly so that services continue to work as expected. Hooray! All applications should work normally and stop that pesky prompt from repeatedly presenting itself until next time the ETSU network password is changed

Continue Log In

Selecting "Continue Log-in" will provide access to desktop files, however network and some third-party applications will present repeated and annoying dialog warnings because the keychain is locked. Fortunately, the keychain can still be updated using the following method:

  1. Open Keychain Access located in Applications > Utilities.
  2. From the Edit menu, choose: Change Password for Keychain "login"…
  3. Type the previous ETSU network password, then click OK.
  4. If the correct password is entered, a new window appears. Enter the previous ETSU network password again in the Current Password field.
  5. In the New Password field, type the password that matches the current ETSU account password.
  6. Re-enter the newer password in the Verify field, then click OK.

The new password will still need to be entered for other directory services such as email or server mounts.

 

Create New Keychain

(If you cannot remember your previous password use this process)

Selecting “Create New Keychain” will result in the destruction of the original keychain and all associated passwords. Each password for websites, D2L or other software that has been stored under your login will need to be manually reentered

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk